California DUI proposals will make anyone think twice about drinking and driving

California bills regarding drinking and driving could change everything for drunk drivers.

Ciaran Henderson is a senior and fourth year staff member.

More stories from Ciaran Henderson

Twice the love
December 13, 2019

In the next week California’s legislature will vote on the reformative bills.

California legislature has introduced two controversial bills in order to combat rising drinking and driving convictions and collisions. If passed, it will make California one of the toughest states on the issue.

“People are going to possibly see an increase in arrests, hopefully there will be less fatalities too.” Resource Officer Carlos Cortes said. “I’m hoping the [bills] are going to deter people from drinking and driving,”

Senate bill SB-545 revisits a previous bill that passed on January 1, 2019 that requires people convicted with driving under the influence or others who caused injury while under the influence to install and maintain an ignition interlock device (IID). The devices are mini-breathalyzer tests that prevent a person from starting their car if they do not have a 0.00 blood alcohol level. The bill would make first time and repeated offenders have to install and pay for the IID which can cost up to $150. They would have to maintain it for up to 48 months.

The other bill, AB-1713 will completely change the blood alcohol level which is deemed illegal. Like most states, California’s BAC limit regarding legality is 0.08 percent; however, if this bill passes, it will be lowered to 0.05. This would make for women under 160 pounds to only be able to drink one to two drinks per hour, and no more than two drinks for men under 200 pounds per hour as well.

“This will be improving safety on the road overall, and should teach teens to just not drink or drive.” senior Jennifer Cheveres said.


Read both the bills text here: